STLDGC Event Discussion Open Forum

Info and Discussion on STLDGC and other St. Louis-area Events

STLDGC Event Discussion Open Forum

Postby I'm a Flicker on Tue Mar 20, 2012 11:37 am

How come it is that St. Louis tournaments can never attract any pros? Only at the A tier do I ever see em. Last yr only 2 local people played open and I don't mean masters
I'm a Flicker
Bogey Poster

Re: The March C-Tiers 2012 - 2 PDGA Events - 3/24 & 3/25

Postby discdoh on Tue Mar 20, 2012 11:59 am

I can only speak for myself, but as a local pro I only play club events. There are a couple of reasons in my situation, however. I am a VERY active board member and do not like combining running PDGA tournaments and playing in PDGA tournaments. I can get away with it in the club events, but there is too much at stake when playing a PDGA event. I hate destroying my PDGA rating simply due to the fact that I have WAY too much other stuff on the mind...no warm-up, people crawling down my back, people crawling down the other board member's backs, etc. The other reason is that I am not currently a PDGA member. This falls under the same reasoning as not playing in PDGA events - I am WAY too busy to play in any events, so why bother renewing when my funds are tight to begin with. I understand that I should be supporting the sport that I love in every possible way, but the PDGA just doesn't fit my agenda at this point and time. Paying the $10+ non-member fee blows donkey, so I just don't play. We don't have enough volunteers anyway.