Fine points and all there J.P. But you would still take a penalty stroke, which at all cost is trying to be avoided. While at the same time staying well inside the rules set forth by the PDGA. I think this one may work.
803.08 B: If a disc comes to rest below the playing surface, its lie shall be marked on the playing surface above it.
If the point directly above the disc is an OB and marked an penalized in accordance with 803.09.(which makes no difference in this senerio)
If the playing surface above the disc is inside a solid obstacle the lie shall be marked on the line of play immediately behind the obstacle.
So with that in mind, if the player chooses he/she can play from the table top. Since it is a part of the course and cant be moved. The player along with the group, feel that throwing from the top does not present any danger to the player/players or spectators. Much like if the disc came to lie under a bridge but not OB, fallen tree, branch, or rock to big to move or get a foot under with enough room for a throwing motion. Or take the latter the mark being in/on an obstacle, and mark behind the obstacle on the line of play. With no penalty stroke. I think that any relief should almost always go in the favor of the player/thrower. This way I dont see any reason why the player should have to take a penalty stroke.
Eraser 4 a head,
Twisted pretzel 4 a brain,
F•ck'in pencil 4 a frame,
Handing u your
"I just got my ass kicked patch"
What a shame...