Beginner

a forum for talking about Disc Golf in St. Louis and Beyond

Beginner

Postby Taylor Johnson on Sat Dec 31, 2011 10:54 am

Hi I just started playing about a month ago, I was hoping I could get together with some seasoned vets so as to improve my skills. I usually play at JB or Schroeder. IM me plz at irockyouknowit@gmail.com!
Thanks!
Taylor Johnson
Bogey Poster

Re: Beginner

Postby Taylor Johnson on Mon Jan 16, 2012 10:20 am

Ok so I bought a bunch of discs but I have no idea how to use them so I was hoping someone could tell me how to throw/what type of shot to use them for. I bought one of each of the following:
Champion orc
Champion sidewinder
Champion roadrunner
Champion wraith
Champion beast
Pro eclipse driver 0 rating
Z nuke ss 1 rating
Esp meteor -.5 rating
Star roc
Star wedge
Wizard putter

Please and thanks for your help!
Taylor Johnson
Bogey Poster

Postby Stubborn Puppet on Mon Jan 16, 2012 3:06 pm

I won't pretend to have much expertise to share with you about those discs, but I have heard some damn consistent advice from experienced and pro players... over and over and over again.

They all say spend your first year throwing only a midrange disc and a putter. They recommend the same four discs every time: Putter to be either an Aviar or a Wizard and the midrange to be a Buzzz or a Roc. The idea is that these are all very consistent, versitile, straight-flying discs that will teach you just how to grip and release consistently.